Deloitte’s partners elect Adam Powick as next Australia CEO

20 April 2021 2 min. read
More news on

Deloitte’s partner team in Australia have voted Adam Powick to become the firm’s next Chief Executive Officer.

Late March Deloitte’s Board put forward Adam Powick as the preferred candidate to succeed outgoing chief executive officer Richard Deutsch. The formal voting process was not expected to change Powick’s fortunes, and indeed, Deloitte has now confirmed that his nomination received “the overwhelming support” of the Australian partners.

“Adam is a deeply experienced and respected leader within Deloitte Australia as well as at the regional and global level,” said Tom Imbesi, Deloitte Australia Chair. Powick will transition into his new role effective immediately, now leading a $2.3 billion business comprising over 900 partners and around 7,000 professionals.

Adam Powick, Chief Executive Officer, Deloitte Australia

Imbesi added: “Adam is an innovative and forward-looking leader who has a strong track record of growing and transforming practices and teams that he leads. Under his leadership we look forward to Deloitte being the market leading professional services firm in Australia.” 

Cindy Hook, the former CEO of Deloitte Australia and now CEO of Deloitte Asia Pacific endorsed the appointment, stating: “Adam a highly valued senior executive and advisor to me and business leaders throughout Australia and Asia Pacific. I could not be more confident in the future of Deloitte Australia under his leadership.”

“As someone who grew up in this firm, an opportunity to lead Deloitte Australia is a real honour and privilege and not something I could ever have imagined when I joined as a young professional many years ago,” said Powick on taking the reins. “The future for Australia and Deloitte is bright and I am really looking forward to leading a firm that makes a positive impact for our clients, our people and the nation.” 

Powick leads a 13-strong National Executive consisting of Clare Harding (CSO), Jody Burton (CFO), Andrew Griffiths (COO), Sneza Pelusi (CRO), Jeremy Cooper (CCO); business unit leaders Ellen Derrick (Consulting), Joanne Gorton (Audit and Assurance), Brett Greig (Tax), Dennis Krallis (Risk Advisory) and David McCarthy (Financial Advisory); and Peter Forrester and Paul Rehder.