Scyne Advisory unveils its executive team (for now)

29 August 2023 3 min. read
More news on

Scyne Advisory has installed an interim executive team, as the soon to be launched breakaway public sector consultancy still awaits its formal launch and the finalisation of its board.

PwC’s public sector spin-out Scyne Advisory is starting to take shape with a new executive leadership team put in place, albeit only on an interim basis at present until the fledgling firm has finalised its board.

Former PwC consulting partner Richard Gwilym will act as interim chief executive, with fellow former partners David Sacks, Diane Rutter, Jamie Briggs, Chris Rogan, Tricia Tebbutt, and Ben Neal overseeing the various states and territories.

Scyne Advisory unveils its executive team (for now)

An economics graduate from the University of Hull, Gwilym had been with PwC since the turn of the century, spending the past decade as a partner in the firm’s transformation practice out of Melbourne with a focus on digital strategy and major digital transformation projects for government and public sector clients.

In addition to his consulting work, Gwilym has also served as a board member of food-waste non-profit SecondBite for the past three years.

Former national government consulting leader and two-decade PwC veteran David Sacks has been handed responsibility for Scyne’s Victoria and Tasmania business, with his fellow geographic leaders to report to Sacks, including ex-parliamentarian Jamie Briggs, PwC’s Adelaide managing partner since 2019, who will continue to oversee South Australia with Scyne as well as lead the firm’s government and external communications function.

The other interim territory leaders include former PwC customer experience and insights partner Diane Rutter in NSW, who has been with the firm since 2008; former Brisbane managing partner and another 15-year servant Chris Rogan in Queensland; Tricia Tebbutt in WA, who joined in 2011 from the UK and has led the Perth consulting practice for the past five years; and former Defence and workforce transformation lead partner Ben Neal in the ACT.

Rounding out the interim executive team are a number of service line leaders, headed by risk services boss Joshua Chalmers, a veteran assurance partner with PwC. Reporting to Chalmers are Tim Jackson (strategy and transformation), Cath Eastwood (data and digital), and Adrian Box (infrastructure), along with go-to-market leader Emily Prior, and Kate Evans, who will oversee the people function and internal communications.

Between them, the quintet bring roughly thirteen decades worth of combined consulting experience, including holding a number of national and global leadership roles. Jackson for example joined Booz Allen Hamilton in 1989, before later serving as Australia, New Zealand and Southeast Asia chairman of Booz & Company and then Strategy& post PwC-acquisition, and more recently heading up the latter’s government and public advisory practice at the global level.

Eastwood meanwhile spent close to three decades at Accenture before joining the PwC partnership in 2020, while Box crossed to PwC in the back half of 2021 as its new national infrastructure markets leader after spending a decade and a half at KPMG. Prior to serving as national health analytics leader, Prior spent a decade at PwC in the UK, having originally joined the firm in Sydney in 2000, with Evans the relative newbie, with just 15 years at PwC.